PDA

View Full Version : Blog Commenting - is it working for you?

bizcard
05-04-2009, 08:35 AM
I just want everyone's opinion about blog commenting. The fact that there are fewer blogs out there that are do follow and it takes some time before your post appears in the comment section, so is blog commenting a viable technique for online marketing? Is it working for you? What are your criteria in posting comments to a blog aside from it being do follow?

vangogh
05-04-2009, 12:47 PM
Do follow never enters into the equation for me. I think if you're looking specifically for do follow blogs you're missing the point of how commenting can be helpful. It's not about looking for a quick link. It's about building a relationship with the blogger in question and the audience of that blog.

For example a month or so ago I read a post on Performancing (http://performancing.com/) about forums. Since I have some experience with forums I left what I hoped was a useful comment for people. I used this forum's URL as the link around my name in the comment. Since then that comment has been one of the biggest sources of referral traffic back here. I could care less what value search engines see in the link.

You have to get past the idea that every link is only about search engines. Some will help where your site ranks true, but links can actually result in direct traffic through the link. Would you turn down a link from CNN if they told you it would be nofollowed?

Beyond the direct traffic is the relationship you can build with the blogger and audience. Business is about developing real relationships with real people. If you consistently leave useful, interesting, informative comments on a blog you like and follow that up with posts on your blog linking to that blog you stand a good chance of getting to know that other blogger who may then recommend you or link to you or many other things that can help your business.