PDA

View Full Version : Google Certifications

krymson
03-27-2015, 05:10 PM
So I've spent the last few days taking my Google AdWords and Analytics certification exams. Now that I'm done, do people even care about that? Potential employers, potential clients, and potential competition do it set me a part from them? Is it enough, on top of my blog postings and other works I do, to show that I'm an expert?

What do you think and your suggestions?

Brian Altenhofel
03-27-2015, 05:49 PM
I personally don't care about certifications. There are very few exceptions where I've seen tech certifications actually carry weight.

Harold Mansfield
03-27-2015, 06:52 PM
So I've spent the last few days taking my Google AdWords and Analytics certification exams. Now that I'm done, do people even care about that? Potential employers, potential clients, and potential competition do it set me a part from them? Is it enough, on top of my blog postings and other works I do, to show that I'm an expert?

What do you think and your suggestions?

I used to ask the same question a while back. Ultimately I've discovered that it doesn't do much. Having the knowledge is always going to be helpful for you overall.

And just keeping it real, that doesn't mean that you're an expert internet marketer. Just that you know how to use the tools. A case study of an actual client's successful marketing and advertising campaign would do far more to attract business than a badge on your website.

However, there are those people who need 4 hours of HTML work done for $75, and want to hire someone with 5 years Marketing experience, a Bachelors in Computer Science, want 10 references, and require a list of your certifications. It'll impress those people.

krymson
03-28-2015, 12:20 AM