PDA

View Full Version : What % of my business should I offer my GM to make him a working partner?

Theboatshop
11-03-2014, 08:31 PM
Hello Everyone,

I own and operate a boat dealership that I started 30 months ago. I graduated from outboard mechanic school at 42, worked at a dealership for 7 months before it went out of business due to the bad economy. I made a decision to purchase the empty property and start my own boat business. In doing so, I was convinced by my old boss, the GM, that he knew what he was doing. When I opened my dealership, I decided to make him my GM. Shortly after, he was caught stealing and was fired. Now, its just me.

During the process of buying the real estate, I discovered i had identity theft. It was done by a very close family member and It would kill my mother if I were to have them prosecuted. SO, unfortunately, I did not prosecute. My score is up from a 375 to a 670 presently.

I started my dealership with about 100K and now, thanks to a couple of great years, I have grown to all most 2,000,000 in assets. As of now, I am the GM and only salesman. I absolutely hate talking to people and have considered selling or even just closing the doors because of my social discomforts with talking to my customers.

Two years ago, I met a retired customer that worked as a GM for a new auto group. He worked for the same group of dealerships for the past 33 years. He retired at 55 from the GM position one of the largest auto group in the state, and is now 57. He has been married 36 years to the same woman and his wife is currently the CFO of over 30 new car dealerships. Loads of experience on both he and his wife's end. Also, they both have 825+ credit scores.

Here is my question....