PDA

View Full Version : Check on my hack job. Does it look right ?

Harold Mansfield
03-18-2009, 12:22 AM
I am not a coder by no means. My design resume' amounts to "let's see if this works" and "what the hell does '?>' mean?"

But I decided to try and do some private advertising on my blog, and needed a more dynamic way to insert video rather than just the sidebars, so I went into the index.php file and played around a little and I would like your opinions.

The middle column where the older posts flow down did not have anything there except the 480x60 banner spot that you see that say's "Follow us on Twitter".

I went in and added the video section just below it, and another one at the bottom of the page just after the posts, and I am thinking about selling the spots.

The videos that I have in those spots now are pretty much like the target advertisers.
Does it look like it's supposed to be there, or does it look like a bad hack job ?
Have I made the blog too heavy to load ?

Basically I don't see anyone else doing it like this in this niche, and the ad networks don't have ads like this for websites and blogs. These ads run on European Television at times and in the U.S., they don't run anywhere.

First link in my sig.

vangogh
03-18-2009, 01:16 AM
You managed to fit it in pretty well. It does look like it's supposed to be there. You're right about the page taking awhile to load. It's not horrible, but it was definitely slow.

The Track it Down in the left sidebar looks like it gets cut off. Maybe too much padding on it's left is pushing it to the right edge. Also the headings in the top section (the rotating post thing and the featured events) is hard to read. They'd probably read better without the bold.

Overall the design feels very crowded to me, but I'm guessing you want to include everything that's there.

Harold Mansfield
03-18-2009, 02:41 AM