PDA

View Full Version : Selling my company?

CMTII
08-01-2014, 03:18 PM
Hey all! Im in a situation. I would like to sell my company, but I have a partner who doesn't want to sell. He doesn't do anything, but just sit around all day when we should be out selling and pushing our product line. That is what we had agreed upon. I took care of all the media, online things and such, emails, online orders, and that sort of thing because selling isn't what I do. I'm not good at it, and I don't want to burn bridges going out consistently and not being able to close any sales. I could use some help right now. Any ideas on what I should do?

Freelancier
08-01-2014, 03:22 PM
what's your partnership agreement say about selling your shares?

CMTII
08-01-2014, 03:48 PM
I own everything on paperwork, all of our investors are personal loans through him. We have profit revenue but only from my end. He believes that he owns the entire company being a superficial 51% share holder. What I mean by that is its not on paper.

Paul
08-01-2014, 04:05 PM
It is all about the paperwork that determines who officially owns the company. Basically the question is do you need his permission to sell.

The loans he may have made is a separate issue. Are the loans to the company only, or do you have some personal liability, or do the loan documents restrict the sale of the business?

With the little info you gave, other than dealing with the loans, it sounds like you can go ahead and sell.

It may certainly be more complicated than that but it seems you have all the leverage, he's the one with money at risk, not you. Based on what he doesn't do for the business there is no business without you. Force his hand.

CMTII
08-01-2014, 04:59 PM
It is all about the paperwork that determines who officially owns the company. Basically the question is do you need his permission to sell.