PDA

View Full Version : Text Editor

billbenson
03-07-2009, 01:54 AM
I've been using a text editor called EditPad Pro for a few years. If you download it, you get a free trial for a month. After a month, some of the advanced features expire but it still works. Even without the advanced features its an nice little text editor.

I just rebuilt my computer and downloaded the current version. It now highlights opening and closing tags in php as well as {}, [], and (). I don't know if that feature will expire, but its a nice text editor if you want something better than notepad for free.

vangogh
03-07-2009, 02:25 AM
When I was on a Windows machine I used HTML Kit. What I liked was the ability to edit real time on the server. I had to find something new when I switched to a Mac. TextMate was one of the recommended editors, but I decided to choose Coda (http://www.panic.com/coda/). I downloaded the 2 week trial and before the trial ran out I went ahead and bought a license. There are so many great features with it I knew I was going to have to buy it after a half hour using it.

I never used Notepad. Even for the most basic things I used Notepad2. There are quite a few decent text editors for Windows that are free if you find EditPad losing some of its features after the trial.

orion_joel
03-07-2009, 06:18 AM
My Preference for a text editor is TextPad, does a lot of the things for coding (which i mostly didn't use), however let you have multiple files open and quickly and easily switch between. As well as line numbers which was more important for me, because when i was using it more, the main thing i was doing was inserting code for scripts.

Another option i have found myself using more recently is the code editor in Cpanel File Manager. I dont think i have had to download and edit a file for any of my sites for over a year, i do it all on the server through the web based editor.

nighthawk
03-07-2009, 07:02 AM