PDA

View Full Version : How would you handle this situation?

Blessed
03-02-2009, 11:21 AM
I have a long-time customer who is generally a pain in the rear but who does get a fair amount of work at regular intervals and pays faster than any of the rest of my customers. I've been doing design work for her for about four years now.

She has a major project in May/June every year and then a bigger one in October/November. Occasionally she'll ask for a small job in between. At the beginning of January she needed one of those small jobs - It took about 30 minutes, my minimum charge is an hour. I sent her an un-watermarked proof and never heard another word from her. So I called to see what was going on and if the job was approved, etc... she indicated that she didn't think I should charge her for the job because it was a quick revision of one of her other forms. But then did mention that she wants her new logo that I made for her in the fall and she wants letterhead/envelopes designed. Then she had to hang up and I'm supposed to call her back today or tomorrow.

So... do I send an invoice even though I know it will make her mad, or do I simply roll the cost into the next job I do for her. (This would be very easy to do without her really noticing - it will be less than $100)? In the meantime - she definitely won't be getting the high-res file of her new logo and etc... until I get a check. Oh, and now I guess she gets watermarked proofs just like everyone else...

rezzy
03-02-2009, 11:44 AM
My thinking is to just let her have without charging. I know my other friends will disagree and it seems you also disagree.

For this, I dont think you roll it into any other invoices. Simply continue like normal. The problem may arise when you have a difference of opinion. It sounds like she is not thrilled about paying, and if you are serious about receiving your pay, would you be ok losing that customer if it comes to that?