PDA

View Full Version : Website builder vs wordpress

on_my_own
04-19-2014, 09:02 PM
There are obviously advanatages and disadvantages for both options, but I wanted some opinions from people a lot more experienced than me. I have created some apparel on a site that will print and ship the apparel for me if a customer decides to buy it. Therefore, I don't technically need an ecommerce site. When a person visiting the website clicks on the "shop" link, they will be directed to the website that I have my designs made (spreadshirt.com). I would like a site where I can post up pictures, videos, blogs, etc that are related to the apparel I am selling. My question is would you guys recommend just using a website builder such as squarespace to make things a lot simpler for me since I am new to this or should I go with wordpress which would allow a lot more room for customization? Any opinions or suggestions are more than welcomed.

Thanks!

Wozcreative
04-19-2014, 09:32 PM
When you get your own hosting and install wordpress on it, you are in charge of what happens to that website. When you go with square space, they essentially own what you've created. Wordpress will also allow for more customization... only if you have the time to learn it.

jimr451
04-22-2014, 01:53 PM
I agree - go with Wordpress on a hosted account.

-It's portable - you can move it if the hosting company goes south.

-You can back it up locally for disaster recovery

-You can customize it in any way you might need going forward.

The drawbacks are that you have to keep up with upgrades and any security / technical issues that arise, but I think that beats locking into a platform that isn't portable.

-Jim

Harold Mansfield
04-22-2014, 02:47 PM
All true. WordPress gives you more freedom, you actually own the website and it's content, and there are no limits to customization with both form and function.