PDA

View Full Version : Can someone help me understand how shopping carts work?

Robert360
03-04-2014, 01:30 PM
I've never used one before because I've never had a product to sell. But I'm curious about how they work. Like when someone orders a product from your site, do you get an email or do you see it in your account on the website? Is it something you install into your control panel or something you put into your source code (not sure if I'm using the right terms)? If someone could just give me a link to a website that has the info that I need, I would really appreciate it. I tried asking on other websites but the people always get nasty and sarcastic as if I already know this stuff. I don't know anything about ecommerce which is why I'm asking for help.

Freelancier
03-04-2014, 01:56 PM
So I'm going to assume you don't even have a site yet, because if you did, you'd already have the answer. So your first step is to find a web designer/developer to work with you to develop your web presence.

You wouldn't need one if you just went and listed the product via eBay or Amazon, those sites you become a seller and offer your products within the confines of how they want you to list it (and they document all the details you need to know about how you get your money, how to handle returns, etc.).

Robert360
03-04-2014, 03:57 PM
So I'm going to assume you don't even have a site yet, because if you did, you'd already have the answer.

Correct. I figured it would be wiser to learn about this stuff now rather than rush into it when I'm ready to sell something.

So your first step is to find a web designer/developer to work with you to develop your web presence.

That's nice and all but I'd really like to know more specifically about shopping carts and how you set up an account to accept money etc. So a link to a website or book or something would be really nice.