PDA

View Full Version : hi from Aberdeen, Scotland

nighthawk
02-20-2009, 03:00 PM
Hey guys, I decided to sign up and introduce myself, and hopefully get some feedback and advice.

I currently work full time as a software developer, providing control systems for the oil industry. It has always been my intention to set up my own business, or at least work freelance on my own, the trouble is I am not sure what exactly to do.

I work full time, and would like to take on extra work on the side initially, with a view to concentrating full time on it eventually. I also move around a lot for work, so it needs to be something I can do online.

My area of expertise is I.T, although my experiences are quite wide and varying within this field. I am an experienced software developer, with knowledge primarily of C# for desktop development, and PHP for web based development. I considered picking up some freelance programming work, but it seems to be hard to find work - sites like rentacoder and guru.com have plenty of jobs listed - but for every job there are 5 or 10 other developers from India or China prepared to do the work for next to nothing.

One thing I always enjoyed was problem solving, trying to find solutions for I.T and logistical problems. Perhaps IT Consultancy, finding and recommending software to help businesses achieve their goals? Im not quite sure how to even begin to find work in this area though, perhaps concentrate on a specific area, maybe advising on the use of Open Source software, or perhaps advising on a specific product (i have extensive knowledge of mySQL server and database design...)

Anyway - hi all, and hope someone can offer some advice.

rezzy
02-20-2009, 03:26 PM
Well first, welcome NightHawk.

Secondly that is quite a loaded opening statement. I always tried those sites, guru.com but felt like those places are the right venue for trying to progress, since they are based on keeping costs low instead reasonably priced projects.