PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Indiana

IT-GUY
02-18-2009, 11:13 PM
Greetings to all,

I just came from the (.com) version of this website. Not much going on and they mentioned this one. So I dediced to come join an see what's happening. I used to lurk the other site, and enjoyed the conversations. I actually posted a couple of times under the UserName OldTechie.

I am retired from a large telcom company and have worked with computers a lot for friends and family for the last 10 years. I finally started back to a community college and am taking courses to obtain my A+ certification.

I have no desire to ever work for a large corporation again. I have hopes of starting a small Computer business, mainly aimed at helping seniors etc. I have seen that some have a lot of difficulty with their PCs.

My background is strong on technology, but weak in the business area. I am good at managing money, but don't know jack about actually running a business.

I do not need to make tons of money, but would like to help people and at least come out clearing around $10.00 per hour after expenses and taxes. I think that is very reasonable, even in this economy.

vangogh
02-18-2009, 11:29 PM
Welcome to the forum IT-GUY. I think I remember you posting as OldTechie, but it's only a vague recollection. I think you'll find most of us feel the same way about working in the corporate world. I know I could never go back to it.

I think you'll be able to do better than clearing $10/hr too. It's hard to realize at first, but you can often do better charging more than you can charging less. Think of selling based on value instead of price.

I know we'll be happy to help you with anything we can and I also know you'll be helping us right back.

Thanks for joining the community.

rezzy
02-18-2009, 11:32 PM
Welcome IT-Guy.

Score one more for the .net version!

IT-GUY
02-18-2009, 11:58 PM