PDA

View Full Version : Spouse partnership LLC EQUITY/DRAW QUESTIONS!!!

kram2724
01-10-2014, 05:48 PM
My wife and I recently started a photography business and turned it into an LLC in which we are 50/50 partners. Using quickbooks pro 2014

I have questions regarding owner equity/owner draw. As of now the whole time I have been using owner equity to record all the personal money we put into the business to start it and as I took some money out to kind of pay back that loan or investment I subtracted back from that equity account. We both have an equity and draw account set up in each of our names in QB's by the way. And I have been using my wife's owner draw account to track an pay her for her work.

But as I'm learning and getting everything lined out for taxes I don't think I'm doing this correctly. Please help in anyway you can and try not to be too rough on my as I'm a railroader by trade and not full time businessman. Thanks

Freelancier
01-10-2014, 11:08 PM
IANAA, just in case you wondered. But here's what I do:

Yes, owner equity is the money you put into the business. However, you aren't decreasing that by taking a portion of the profits out. You're really taking them from "retained earnings" (basically all the profits you haven't taken out of the business) on the balance sheet.

What I do is have a separate expense account called "owner dividends" and apply the checks against that. That reduces profits, which reduces retained earnings.

But your best bet would be to chat with your accountant to find out what account she wants you to apply these draws against.

Evan
01-25-2014, 10:32 PM
What I do is have a separate expense account called "owner dividends" and apply the checks against that. That reduces profits, which reduces retained earnings.

But your best bet would be to chat with your accountant to find out what account she wants you to apply these draws against.