PDA

View Full Version : Website review

tuitionsource
02-10-2009, 10:52 PM
Hi guys. Newbie here. Paul has been critiquing my website and suggested posting over here. So here goes... I copied this from the PM's to let you see our previous discussion.

Re: Web site URL
TS:My readers return to find out what has happened and is going to happen in their community. I am running low on current things for the last 2 weeks.

Paul:You might consider posting the menus of the local schools. You may be able to get some of them as feeds. You can also encourage the schools to send their menus for each week/month.

With bad weather, do you post school closings?

TS: I typically show up at events and take pics or vids and post them. So they also come to see their pics or vids on the site. We are averaging about 500 hits a day.

Paul:Great! When you photo/video an event, do you have cards to pass out to the crowd that give the URL for them to check out the site?

TS: The plan is to be very visible in the next few months locally.

Paul:What is your plan to do that?

What information would your visitors like to notified of? Set up a squeeze page for those notifications.

TS: Right now 51% of my visitors have visited over 50 times. Is that a good rate? 36% only visit once.

Paul:I'd think that is a very good rate.

Why is the realtor listed on your home page? It seems her area is not Johnson County.

On your business listings, do those spaced out at the top of the page pay for their position?

Are the others lower down on the page simply scraped from elsewhere?

How about posting the pics and bios of the reporters at your site.

Consider having OpEds from local movers and shakers. That should give you plenty of content.

When you solicit restaurant reviews, how about giving the reviewers a format to follow or fill in with a 1-5 star rating system. You can do Yahoo Local and Google.com/maps one better by doing that.