PDA

View Full Version : Leadership Help...

kjkzzz
02-10-2009, 12:23 AM
Hi all - I'm new to the forums.

My Question:

I'm new to managing / leading people, and have a question:

One of my employees, at a weekly company meeting, said she attended a seminar, and we are all now required (by her) to fill out a questionnaire (I didn't hear about this beforehand).

The questionnaire is about goal setting: What goals did we fail at last year, what are our goals for next year, how to we plan to reach those goals, etc.

My first instinct was to feel a bit....shall we say, emasculated, and had a strong reaction against filling out these forms. Deep down, I think it signals a failure on my part to provide strong enough leadership for the team.

This employee will be mad/hurt if I refuse to follow along in her project. However, there has long been an undercurrent of a power struggle in the making for a while now between her and I, with her acting like "the boss" in the company.

GIVEN THIS INFO:

How would you all handle this situation?

How do *you* deal with an employee who's become overly aggressive in your company? In this case: would you fill out her forms? Would you handle it in the next company meeting, or handle it privately. What would you say to this person?

Thanks for the advice.

Jay

KristineS
02-10-2009, 10:13 AM
I would call her in privately and let her know that you run things, not her, and that projects like this should be cleared with you before being broadcast to the group at large. I'd also ask what this is supposed to accomplish. Once the forms are filled out what do you do with them? How is this going to help the company as a whole get better and accomplish more. Try to establish what her motivation is for wanting to do this in the first place.