PDA

View Full Version : Importing from Singpapore

kns
02-07-2009, 09:33 AM
I am just starting out with my new retail business (outside US) and am looking at buying bulk volume products from an IT distributor in Singapore. This is my first and so am completely new to the shipping & importing experience. I have just received their price list for most of the products that I require but what I am confused is about the GST that they mention on their quote. How do I calculate this - be it for a single item or for the whole delivery package?
Also how would I calculate the shipping charges from Singapore? I understand this would be something depending on the category of items that are imported, the quantity and import regulations in my country(have this information already).
But I guess what I am trying to figure out is a 'rough figure' beforehand so that a total budget can be worked out to import the goods and how the GST & shipping would affect the prices of each product.
Is it just a few countries that impose the GST tax or is it just called under different names in different countries?
In short, I would be asking for some advise on any general issues, charges, etc. that I most importantly need to be aware of while going through the whole import process. Thanks.

billbenson
02-07-2009, 10:15 AM
I don't know what GST is, but be very careful. I export from the US, not import. That being said their is a fair amount of fraud in Singapore. I get nigerian scam type orders from there frequently. Just be careful.

kns
02-07-2009, 10:24 AM
I don't know what GST is, but be very careful. I export from the US, not import. That being said their is a fair amount of fraud in Singapore. I get nigerian scam type orders from there frequently. Just be careful.

Thanks for the caution bill. I am definitely trying to play safe, especially when you hear most of the scam stories happening in that part of the world.

seolman
02-07-2009, 07:56 PM