Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Unclaimed items

  1. #1
    Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    12
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Unclaimed items

    I operate my electronic repair business from NY. I have had many customers drop their device off and then not come and get it. Or they say they will come and get it and they end up not coming. I have had some devices for 3 to 4 months and some longer.

    Could I notify the customer that if they do not come in and get it I will sell it to pay for the parts and labor?

  2. #2
    Member Needs New Keyboard Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,143
    Likes (Given)
    109
    Likes (Received)
    220

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jetlabbelectronics View Post
    Could I notify the customer that if they do not come in and get it I will sell it to pay for the parts and labor?
    Yep. Just run the language and how to do this through your lawyer.
    Brad Miedema
    Fulcrum Saw & Tool

  3. #3
    Web Consultant Array Harold Mansfield's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    9,128
    Likes (Given)
    985
    Likes (Received)
    912

    Default

    I agree. Yes you can. In the future set the rules clearly with new customers. Even a dry cleaner will sell your clothes if you leave them too long.
    WordPress Support WordPress Design WordPress Security

    "It takes less time to do a thing right, than it does to explain why you did it wrong." -Henry Longfellow

  4. #4
    Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    12
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default

    So I have it in a paper I have them sign that after 30 days I will sell their items if they don't pick theme up. My issue is with two customers. I have had their devices for 3nor 4 months but I didn't have this paper then and they didn't sign it. So is it still valid?

  5. #5
    Web Consultant Array Harold Mansfield's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    9,128
    Likes (Given)
    985
    Likes (Received)
    912

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jetlabbelectronics View Post
    So I have it in a paper I have them sign that after 30 days I will sell their items if they don't pick theme up. My issue is with two customers. I have had their devices for 3nor 4 months but I didn't have this paper then and they didn't sign it. So is it still valid?
    No, that would be unfair. For customers going forward.
    WordPress Support WordPress Design WordPress Security

    "It takes less time to do a thing right, than it does to explain why you did it wrong." -Henry Longfellow

  6. #6
    Member Needs New Keyboard Array tallen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Hampshire & Maine
    Posts
    451
    Likes (Given)
    29
    Likes (Received)
    91

    Default

    In many states, after some period of time, unclaimed property must be turned over to the state, although this is typically "intangible" monetary property. There may be specific rules about how you can dispose of unclaimed tangible personal property. You should look into those before proceeding. For NY, you might start here: Office of the New York State Comptroller - Unclaimed Funds

    Edited to add; you might also look in to "mechanic's lien" law (especially if you haven't been paid for repair work you have done).
    Last edited by tallen; 02-19-2017 at 05:52 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •