PDA

View Full Version : WordPress Help?

AmyAllen
02-03-2011, 10:53 PM
I'm working on a website for a family member who requested I create something for them based around the WordPress(.org) CMS. This is my first time working with WordPress, and I have a couple of basic questions.

First of all: Is it possible to upload your own HTML file, or edit an HTML file on WP? Or can you only edit the CSS of a pre-existing theme?

Can I design from scratch on WP without having to know PHP?

Can I design anything for WP that I could design from scratch? Or are my layout options limited?

For someone fluent in HTML/CSS - how much time am I going to have to invest in learning how to use WP to be able to design around it? My brother-in-law needs his site up in the next month or so, so if the learning curve is significant - I might have to go another way.

Thanks in advance for the help! -Amy

Patrysha
02-03-2011, 11:13 PM
Yeah, I think learning what you need and applying it in under a month in a way that you will be satisfied with will be a huge challenge. Poke around the Wordpress Codex and see how easy you think it will be to grasp based on what you already know. Go take a peek at the source code of some wordpress sites. And see if you think it's doable to learn within a month.

I personally have never messed with making my own theme from scratch (though I do have a full course on how to do such things that I've read through...it truly just seemed like to much work for me for what I need to accomplish...it's easier to just buy a theme that is close enough to what I want and fiddle with it to make it exactly what I want.

vangogh
02-03-2011, 11:53 PM
Actually I think a month is doable, especially since you have a few WordPress experts here who will gladly help. Let me answer your questions and then I'll add a few more thoughts.