PDA

View Full Version : WordPress as a CMS

vangogh
05-06-2009, 02:21 AM
WordPress began as a blogging platform and I know that's how many people still see it and how it's mostly used. However it's evolved beyond it's blogging origins and WordPress can now be used as a full content management system.

Here's a post from Noupe, 101 Techniques for a Powerful CMS using WordPress (http://www.noupe.com/wordpress/powerful-cms-using-wordpress.html), with links to plenty of tutorials on using WordPress as a CMS. The post is the first in a 4 part series.

Over the last year more and more of my clients are using WordPress. Sites that a couple of years ago I might have developed without any CMS I'm putting on WordPress. The last site I developed was a three page site with no blog and it's being powered by you guessed it WordPress.

Anyone else using WordPress as a CMS?

Patrysha
05-06-2009, 08:47 AM
Yup...as a marketer it's the platform of choice that I recommend to my clients. I'm not a pro at it, and I manage client expectations by explaining that I am not a designer and that all I do is is customize templates - my skill is in the writing and the offline integration...but yup...all WP.

rezzy
05-06-2009, 11:31 AM
I often try to push, maybe to much as a cms for clients that need to do updates.

When I first started looknig CMSes, I liked Joomla. But after looking at the internals, I found it to be way over the top. Hence, I switched. Wordpress all the way.

vangogh
05-06-2009, 11:49 AM
Usually once I explain to clients that if they use WordPress it means they'll be able to add new pages on their own without having to pay me to do it, it helps make the sale. Especially when I tell them the price will be the same for me to develop the site with or without WordPress.