PDA

View Full Version : Facebook to change algorythms to force brands to buy ads in 2015

Harold Mansfield
11-21-2014, 01:31 PM
Can't say we didn't all see this coming. They've already reduced the reach of your company page by like 90%, now they're going to put the final nail in the coffin.
As I've been saying for at least 2 years now, your website should be the core of your online marketing, not 3rd party sites that you have no control over.

The change will be large enough that research firm Forrester is encouraging (http://blogs.forrester.com/nate_elliott/14-11-17-facebook_has_finally_killed_organic_reach_what_sho uld_marketers_do_next) companies to decrease their reliance on Facebook. Instead, the site recommends they add social relationship tools to their own sites and use email marketing campaigns to reach customers.
Source: Facebook's New Algorithm Could Force Brands to Buy Ads | Adweek (http://www.adweek.com/news/advertising-branding/facebook-brands-no-more-free-rides-161587)

vangogh
11-22-2014, 06:18 PM
Not surprising at all. This is why you should have a websites and not view Facebook as the only place to be online. Facebook can clearly drive a lot of traffic, but it should be seen as one among many marketing channels. I think you and I agree completely about this.

Here's a good article from CopyBlogger about digital sharecropping. Here's a quote from the article. The emphasis is mine.

The secret is to spend most of your time and creative energy building assets that you control.

There are three assets you should be building today, and should continue to focus on for the lifetime of your business:

1. A well-designed website with your own hosting account
2. An opt-in email list, ideally with a high-quality autoresponder
3. A reputation for providing impeccable value

The key is the part I emphasized. "That you control."